Ancien site / Old Website
Presse Itineraire de mémoire Espace Hamilton Levaufre Version
   
Edward S. Hamilton
1 Bis Place du Général de Gaulle • 50190 Périers
ehl.normandy@gmail.com
Henri G. Levaufre
Inaugurated on July 27,2019, the Hamilton-Levaufre Space is a place of memory dedicated to these two exceptional men, but also to the 90th US Infantry Division, the bombing of Périers, the exodus, the hard fights at Hill 122 and Sèves Island prior to the liberation of Périers, the reconstruction, the PLUTO pipeline, etc.

Edward S. Hamilton Henri Levaufre
Landing at Utah-Beach on June 8, 1944, Major Hamilton commanded the 1st Battalion (about 800 men) of the 357th Regiment of the 90th US Infantry Division during the fighting for the liberation of Périers.
Ed was a leader of men. On August 7, a few kilometers from Le Mans, his regiment decimated a unit of German soldiers, making 30 dead, 80 wounded and 280 prisoners. The following September 8th, in Meurthe-et-Moselle, he launched a new raid on the German positions which resulted in the destruction of 4 enemy tanks and the capture of 17 prisoners. This new action earned him the Distinguished Service Cross for his heroic behavior under enemy fire. Promoted Lieutenant-Colonel, he is seriously wounded on September 10th at Hayange, in Moselle.

He was 13 years old at the time of the landing in Normandy. His life is forever marked by it, and the summer of 1944 will never stop feeding the daily routine of a life that has become extraordinary. All his life, he never ceased to know and to make known the history of the 90th US Infantry Division, that liberated Périers on July 27, 1944. Appointed as early as 1972 as its official representative in Europe, he is still today an authority in the knowledge of this unit for which, in contact with the inhabitants or veterans of both camps, he has collected an impressive quantity of testimonies on the living conditions and the fights. His greatest pride is, on the occasion of a meeting in Heidelberg in 1979, to have brought a new friendship between yesterday's enemies, the soldiers of the 90th US Infantry Division and those of the 6th German Parachute Regiment.


The 90th US Infantry Division
The 2 bombardments
  The first elements of the 90th Infantry Division (2 battalions of the 359th Infantry Regiment attached to the 4th Infantry Division) landed on Utah-Beach in the morning of June 6, 1944. The rest of the division arrived there two days later. On July 22 and 23, 1944, after having successfully crossed the Sèves River and despite the Résultat de recherche d'images pour "tought ombres"efforts made to stay there, the men of the 358th Infantry Regiment were forced to surrender or to return to their starting line. The fighting was so violent that a truce was negotiated so that each side could recover its wounded abandoned on the battlefield. Of the approximately 35,000 men who had spent 308 days in combat, the 90th Infantry Division counted 2,963 killed, 14,009 wounded, 1,052 missing and 442 prisoners. Contrary to the information provided to the bomber crews, Périers does not house German Headquarters, it is only a crossroads of two major axes. In Périers the fear is there of course, but the hope of a close liberation helps to moderate it. We don't have to fear much here in such a small town... think the inhabitants. On this 8th of June, for the inhabitants of Périers, it is 8:11 am, the hour when their life will change... And for 127 of them, it will stop. The 41 planes dropped 213 bombs of 500 pounds, about 50 tons of explosives. In ruined Périers, the rescue services are organizing themselves as best as they can, looking for survivors, burying the dead and treating the wounded. The survival instinct prevailed. You have to flee, to seek for a safer shelter in the countryside. And on June 13, all hell breaks loose again...


The exodus
Hill 122
This word speaks to the people of Normandy that Allied bombing forced to leave their towns, their villages to seek shelter in the countryside. The center of the village of Périers is now in ruins. There are no doctors left to take care of the wounded. Fear is omnipresent. Most of the time the first goal is to try to reach another family home or a friendly farm. Then what seems to be essential for survival is loaded into a cart or a wheelbarrow. Once on the roads, the danger is not removed, quite the contrary. Up in the sky, the incessant ballet of allied fighters is on the lookout for the slightest movement. A vehicle on a road, even covered with a white sheet, is bound to be suspicious in the eyes of the young trigger-happy pilots.
The summit of Mount Castre has an elevation of 122 meters above sea level, hence the name of Cote 122, in English Hill 122. The view enjoyed by German artillery observers from the heights of the mount allows them to precisely and deadly adjust their guns. The Americans started their attack from July 3. The Germans held firm and prevented the Americans from advancing any further: 90% of their losses were due to German artillery. Disorganised, exhausted and permanently soaked for nearly a week, the American soldiers had a particularly low morale. The return of good weather on July 5 made air support possible. The vise will finally be loosened on July 10 at the cost of heavy losses and thanks to the intervention of four Sherman tanks of the 712th Tank Battalion led by Lieutenant Jim Flowers. Mount Castre and the surrounding area were completely liberated on the 12th.


Hospital lane
Reconstruction
On the evening of July 24,1944, the objective is the capture of Périers and of other villages further south. The 359th Regiment had to position itself a few kilometers north of Périers, in front of the Hospital lane, a dirt road on the edge of the marsh. Enclosed under tall trees between two thick hedges, the Germans transformed it into a fortification line. The first difficulty is to succeed in crossing the Sèves, the river that flows through the open meadows. The Germans had several tanks at their disposal, which took the American forces in enfilade. At the end of the day on the 26, unable to hold their positions because of a lack of support, the men had to resign themselves to rejoin the position they had left that morning. Out of a starting strength of 450 men, these 15 hours of uninterrupted fighting will have cost 72 killed and 176 wounded. After numerous attacks, Périers is finally liberated in the afternoon of July 27.
The bombardments on the mornings of June 8 and June 13, 1944 plus the artillery shelling during the days leading up to the liberation of July v, left the center of the town of Périers almost 80% destroyed. Although the American engineers cleared the two main roads with bulldozers to ease the crossing of the tanks of the 4th Armored Division, the clearing of houses had to be done mostly by hand with shovels, pickaxes and wheelbarrows. The Prisiais (name of the people of Périers) will be temporarily housed in wooden barracks, donated by international solidarity, which will cover all available spots, including places like the Fairage, the railway station and General Leclerc.


The pipeline
Video room
In 1944, an American armored division requires 228 tons of fuel per day on the road. A jeep consumes 15 liters of gas per 100 km, a Sherman tank more than 400 liters for the same distance (average numbers). Every day the men must be supplied with food, clothing and ammunition, but in a modern army it is necessary to ensure the supply of fuel for all vehicles. The answer: an underwater pipeline linking the Isle of Wight to Cherbourg, which will carry about 3,000 tons of fuel every day. Its name: PLUTO = Pipe-Line Under The Ocean. From time to time there are leaks, more or less consequent, and the surrounding civilians hasten to go and recover the precious liquid using all the available containers, including the famous Jerrycan, famous in particular among the American troops.
A room is dedicated to the projection of films, most of them unpublished, with many pictures and videos coming from archives. About fifteen sound and color films are available, in French or English, with the possibility of subtitling in French, English or German. The choice is yours!

Practical information
The Hamilton-Levaufre Space is open to the public from the beginning of June to the end of August. Outside this period, contact 07 73 53 46 11, 06 88 04 27 41 or 06 62 12 29 09, whether for school groups, pensioner groups or others.
Admission is free.
Area fully accessible to people with reduced mobility.



© www.normandy44.fr

Ancien site / Old Website
Presse Itineraire de mémoire Espace Hamilton Levaufre Version
   
Edward S. Hamilton
1 Bis Place du Général de Gaulle • 50190 Périers
ehl.normandy@gmail.com
Henri G. Levaufre
Inauguré le 27 juillet 2019, l'Espace Hamilton-Levaufre est un lieu de mémoire consacré à ces deux hommes exceptionnels, mais également à la 90ème Division d'Infanterie US, aux bombardements de  Périers, à l'exode, aux durs combats du Mont Castre et de Sèves préalables à la libération de Périers, à la reconstruction, au pipe-line PLUTO, etc.

Edward S. Hamilton Henri Levaufre
Débarqué à Utah-Beach le 8 juin 1944, le major Hamilton commande le 1er Bataillon du 357ème Régiment de la 90ème Division d'Infanterie US lors des combats pour la libération de Périers, soit environ 800 hommes.
Ed est un meneur d’hommes. Le 7 août, à quelques kilomètres du Mans, son régiment décime une unité de soldats allemands, faisant 30 morts, 80 blessés et 280 prisonniers. Le 8 septembre suivant, en Meurthe-et-Moselle, il lance un nouveau raid sur les positions allemandes qui permet la destruction de 4 chars ennemis, et la capture de 17 prisonniers. Cette nouvelle action lui vaut l’attribution de la Distinguished Service Cross pour son comportement héroïque sous le feu de l’ennemi. Promu Lieutenant-Colonel, il est grièvement blessé le 10 septembre à Hayange, en Moselle.

Il a 13 ans lors du débarquement en Normandie. Sa vie en est marquée pour toujours, et l'été 1944 ne cessera jamais d’alimenter le quotidien d’une vie devenue extraordinaire. Toute sa vie durant, il n’a de cesse de connaître et de faire connaître l’histoire de la 90ème Division d’Infanterie US, qui libère Périers le 27 juillet 1944. Nommé dès 1972 comme son représentant officiel en Europe, il fait aujourd’hui encore autorité dans la connaissance de cette unité. Il collecte au contact des habitants ou des vétérans des deux camps une quantité impressionnante de témoignages sur les conditions de vie et les combats. Sa plus grande fierté est, à l'occasion d'une rencontre à Heidelberg en 1979, de faire naître une nouvelle amitié entre les ennemis d'hier, les soldats de la 90ème Division d'Infanterie américaine et ceux du 6ème Régiment de parachutistes allemand.


La 90ème Division US
Les 2 bombardements
Les premiers éléments de la 90ème (2 bataillons du 359ème Régiment d'Infanterie rattachés à la 4ème Division d'Infanterie) débarquent sur Utah-Beach dans la matinée du 6 juin 1944. Le reste de la division arrive sur place deux jours plus tard. Les 22 et 23 juillet 1944, après avoir réussi la traversée de la Sèves et malgré les efforts déployés pour s'y maintenir, les hommes du 358ème Régiment d'Infanterie sont contraints à se rendre ou à revenir sur lRésultat de recherche d'images pour "tought ombres"eur ligne de départ. Les combats sont si violents qu'une trêve est négociée pour que chaque camp puisse récupérer ses blessés abandonnés sur le champ de bataille. Sur les environ 35000 hommes passés dans ses rangs au cours de ses 308 jours au combat, la 90ème Division d'Infanterie comptabilisera 2 963 tués, 14 009 blessés, 1 052 disparus et 442 prisonniers. Contrairement aux informations fournies aux équipages des bombardiers, Périers n'héberge pas d'état-major allemand, c'est seulement un carrefour de deux axes majeurs. A Périers la peur est là bien sûr, mais l'espoir d'une libération proche la tempère. On ne craint pas grand-chose ici dans un si petit bourg... En ce 8 juin, pour les habitants de Périers, il est 8h11, l'heure où leur vie va basculer… Et pour 127 d'entre eux s'arrêter. Les 41 appareils ont largué 213 bombes de 500 livres, soit environ 50 tonnes d'explosifs. Dans Périers en r u i n e s , les secours s'organisent tant bien que mal, on cherche les survivants, on enterre les morts et on soigne les blessés. L'instinct de survie l'emporte. Il faut fuir, chercher un abri plus sûr dans la campagne. Et le 13 juin l'enfer recommence...


L'exode
Le Mont Castre
Ce mot parle aux gens de Normandie que les bombardements alliés ont obligé à quitter leurs villes, leurs villages pour chercher un abri dans les campagnes. Le centre bourg de Périers n'est plus que ruines. Il n'y a plus de médecin sur place pour s'occuper des blessés. La peur est omniprésente. Le plus souvent on cherche d'abord à rejoindre une autre maison familiale ou une ferme amie. On charge alors dans une carriole ou une brouette ce qui semble essentiel à la survie. Une fois sur les routes, le danger n'est pas écarté bien au contraire. Là-haut dans le ciel, le ballet incessant des chasseurs alliés est à l'affût du moindre mouvement. Un véhicule sur une route, même recouvert d'un drap blanc est forcément suspect aux yeux des jeunes pilotes à la gâchette facile.
Le sommet du Mont Castre a une élévation de 122 m au-dessus de la mer d'où l'appellation de Cote 122, en anglais Hill 122. La vue dont profitent les observateurs d'artillerie allemands depuis les hauteurs du mont leur permet un réglage précis et meurtrier de leurs canons. Les Américains attaquent à partir du 3 juillet. Les Allemands tiennent bon et empêchent les Américains de progresser plus avant : 90 % de leurs pertes sont dues à l'artillerie allemande. Désorganisés, épuisés et trempés en permanence depuis près d'une semaine, les soldats américains ont un moral particulièrement bas. Le retour du beau temps le 5 juillet permet l'appui aérien. L'étau sera finalement desserré le 10 juillet au prix de lourdes pertes et grâce à l'intervention de quatre tanks Sherman du 712ème bataillon de chars emmenés par le lieutenant Jim Flowers. Le Mont Castre et les environs sont totalement libérés le 12.


Le chemin de l'Hôpital
La reconstruction
Au soir du 24 juillet, l'objectif c'est la capture de Périers et d'autres villages plus au sud. Le 359ème Régiment doit se positionner quelques km au nord de Périers, en face du chemin de l'Hôpital, chemin de terre à la limite du marais. Encaissé sous de grands arbres entre deux haies épaisses, les Allemands l'ont transformé en ligne de fortification. La première difficulté c'est de réussir à traverser la Sèves, la rivière qui coule au milieu des prés à découvert. Les Allemands disposent de plusieurs chars qui prennent en enfilade les forces américaines. En fin de journée du 26, ne pouvant tenir leurs positions faute de soutien, les hommes doivent se résigner à rejoindre la position qu'ils ont quittée le matin même. Sur un effectif de départ de 450 hommes, ces 15 heures de combat ininterrompu auront coûté 72 tués et 176 blessés. Après nombre d'attaques, le 27 juillet Périers est libéré.
Les bombardements aux matins des 8 et 13 juin 1944 ainsi que les combats d'artillerie dans les jours précédant la libération du 27 juillet ont laissé un centre bourg de Périers détruit à presque 80 %. Si le génie américain a dégagé les deux axes principaux à coups de bulldozer pour faciliter le passage des chars de la 4ème Division Blindée, les travaux de déblaiement des maisons doivent se faire le plus souvent à la main avec pelle, pioche et brouette. Les Prisiais vont être hébergés provisoirement dans des baraques en bois, dons de la solidarité internationale, qui vont couvrir tous les endroits disponibles et notamment les places du Fairage, de la gare et du Général Leclerc.


Le pipe-line
Salle vidéo
En 1944, une division blindée américaine nécessite sur route 228 tonnes de combustible par jour. En effet une jeep consomme 15 litres d'essence aux 100 km, un char Sherman plus de 400 litres pour la même distance (chiffres moyens). Il faut chaque jour approvisionner les hommes en nourriture, en vêtements et en munitions, mais dans une armée moderne il faut surtout assurer le ravitaillement en essence pour tous les véhicules. La réponse : un oléoduc sous-marin qui relie l'ile de Wight à Cherbourg et va permettre de faire transiter environ 3 000 tonnes de combustible chaque jour. Son nom : PLUTO = Pipe Line Under The Ocean. De temps en temps il y a des fuites, plus ou moins conséquentes, et les civils environnants s'empressent d'aller récupérer le précieux liquide en utilisant tous les récipients disponibles dont le fameux Jerrycan, célèbre notamment chez les Américains.
Un espace est dédié à la projection de films, pour la plupart inédits, avec de nombreuses images et vidéos d'archives. Une quinzaine de films sonorisés et en couleurs est disponible, en français ou en anglais, avec possibilité de sous-titrage en français, en anglais ou en allemand. Vous n'avez que l'embarras du choix !

Infos pratiques
L'Espace Hamilton-Levaufre est ouvert au public de début juin à fin août. En dehors de cette période, contactez le 07 73 53 46 11, le 06 88 04 27 41 ou le 06 62 12 29 09, que ce soit pour les scolaires, les groupes de retraités ou autres. Entrée gratuite.
Espace entièrement accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite.



© www.normandy44.fr